College Formation


The College of Criminal Justice was established in response to the needs of Arab criminal justice sectors for postgraduate academic studies in criminal justice. This required the specialist areas of sharia, law, and security studies based on a comprehensive concept of security. It had the aim of serving security and stability in the Arab world.

Before its establishment as a separate college, its specialist areas were taught in two departments in the former College of Higher Studies, which was established in 1983. The College comprises two departments: The Department of Sharia and Law, and the Department of Security Studies. The College offers a Master's degree and a Doctoral degree in and a higher diploma in Sharia, law, and security studies.

Study in the college is based on a semester system, with two semesters in each academic year. The diploma is one year in length and the Master’s degree and PhD programs are three years in length.